2018-2019 Award Recipients

  • 2019 Claudette Scott Teacher of the Year: Eva Williamson (Johnson Elementary)

    (Nomination essay excerpt)
    Eva Williamson Ms. Williamson is the epitome of a master teacher. Ms. Williamson has been committed to providing a calm, trauma-sensitive learning environment that feels welcoming from the moment you step in.

    Committed to instructing a group of diverse learners through engaging and challenging lessons, Ms. Williamson demonstrates the belief that all of her students can learn. She inspires her students and fellow teachers through her positive attitude, willingness to do whatever it takes for students, and helpful hand.

    As a CARE team member she creates lessons that are culturally responsive and uses literature that allows students to see themselves in the characters.
    When Ms. Williams chose to come to HMC-1 last year she had multiple teaching opportunities that would have been far less challenging. But, she felt a need to commit to teaching in a school that is predominately children of color and support the mission and vision of Hickman Mills and Johnson are truly blessed to have such an amazingly loving and caring teacher.
    Runners Up
    Jamekia Kendrix, Symington Elementary
    Susan Leigh, Warford Elementary

    2019 Millie Harness Support Person of the Year: Sharon Heffernan (Ruskin High School)

    (Nomination essay excerpt) 
    Sharon Heffernan headshot There is no one I have worked with in the last two decades who devotes themselves so entirely to the Hickman Mills School District. There are not nearly enough great things to say about Sharon Heffernan.

    Sharon has held nearly every non-certified position available in the district.  She is reliable and diligent in every project she takes on. She does so much for so many, with little to no recognition.

    Without Sharon, I could NOT do the jobs I do-- she has literally been my right hand for 21 years. She makes everyone around her look amazing and does it tirelessly. Her commitment to a job well done is unwavering.

    Sharon Heffernan is the backbone of Ruskin High School.
    Runners Up 
    Terrance Eberra, Buildings & Grounds
    Belinda Ritter, Johnson Elementary


    2019 Volunteers of the Year

    Helen Harrington, HMC-1 parent
    Pastor Ronald Lindsay, Concord Fortress of Hope Church