Board of Directors

  • Cecil Wattree, president

    Cecil Wattree headshot Director Cecil E. Wattree, LMSW is a Licensed Master Social Worker whose work has focused on practice and implementation in Mental Health, Education and Social Justice.


    He received his Bachelors of Science in Psychology from Emporia State University and Masters of Social Work from University of Missouri-Kansas City. With a decade of experience in mental health, Director Wattree has worked with all ages, to provide consultation, develop roles within outpatient mental health settings, implemented strategies, evidence based practices and worked within the community to assist families of color on the micro, mezzo and macro level. Director Wattree has worked to implement trauma informed care, equity and restorative practices with adolescents within Hickman Mills C-1 school district as a previous employee and shareholder. He continues to devote his experience and practice to community organizing, behavioral and medical health within the Kansas City Metro area.

  • Irene C. Kendrick, vice-president

    Irene Kendrick is a human resource professional who has lived in the HMC-1 community for over 30 years. She has been married for 35 years. She attended schools in HMC-1 as did her children and grandchildren. Kendrick attended DeVry University where she studied Human Resources Management and Services.


    Since her retirement, she has chosen to dedicate her time and energy to working for her community serving on the Grandview Parks and Recreation as Commissioner and the Hickman Mills School District as Assistant Vice-President of the PTA, member of the Mentoring Program at Warford Elementary where her granddaughter attends.

  • Tramise Carter, director Tramise Carter headshot

    Tramise Carter is a Financial Product Specialist in the Kansas City area. She is a graduate of Northeast High School and is pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Business.


    Ms. Carter is involved in the Hickman Mills community. She was inspired by children in HMC-1 to join the school board.


  • Alvin Brooks headshot Alvin Brooks, director

    Alvin Brooks has been an integral part of the HMC-1 community, previously serving as a Kansas City police officer and police commissioner, an administrator in the Kansas City School District, and several other community-focused positions. He has a degree in history and government and a Masters of Sociology, both from the University of Missouri - Kansas City.


    Mr. Brooks joined HMC-1’s Board believing all children are entitled to the best public education.  He appreciates the opportunity to work with a relatively new board and a talented, charismatic, visionary, articulate, and committed superintendent.  

  • Carol Graves Carol Graves, director

    Before joining HMC-1’s Board of Education, Carol Graves served as a special education teacher for 21 years. She earned a Bachelor’s of Arts from Rockhurst College, and a Masters of Arts and Educational Specialist certification from the University of Missouri – Kansas City.


    Ms. Graves joined the HMC-1 Board to make an impact not only on the students, but the community as a whole. This is the driving force behind everything she does to try and make a difference. Ms. Graves is also a former board president.

  • DaRon McGee, director

  • Byron Townsend, director