Return to Headlines

Six HMC-1 Nutrition Teams Win State Awards

HMC-1 Nutrition services teams earn state awardsAt the end of each school year, HMC-1 school cafeteria managers take the time to review their school year's breakfast and lunch participation. Cafeteria staff know, that in addition to improving student's behavior and academic performance, school breakfast and lunch also improves children's health. Participation improves students' dietary intake and protects against obesity and other negative health outcomes.

As part of the review process, cafeteria managers submit their findings to the Missouri School Nutrition Association (SNA). SNA is a state organization of school nutrition professionals committed to advancing the quality of school meal programs through education and advocacy. The nonprofit professional organization's goal is to provide high-quality, low-cost meals to students across the country.

Each summer, schools who increase participation in breakfast and/or lunch, earn the 3% In-crease Participation Award. This year, six different Hickman Mills C-1 Schools received awards at the Nutrition State Conference for the 2022-2023 school year.

3% Increase Participation Award - Breakfast and Lunch:

  • Warford Elementary School
  • Millennium at Santa Fe Elementary School

3% Increase Participation Award - Breakfast:

  • Ruskin High School

3% Increase Participation Award – Lunch:

  • Compass Elementary School
  • Dobbs Elementary School
  • Ervin Elementary School

“We are impressed with our nutritional teams,” Dr. Craig Merkerson, executive director of district support services said. “Congratulations to our state winning schools! We look forward to having all of our schools receive the 3% Increase Participation Award next year. Keep up the good work!”

Congratulations to our nutritional teams at these schools and to all of our nutritional teams for your hard work every day!